Solidarity With the Protests

Hey, all.

The police are killing people. The state is killing people. I'll keep this short, since I'm not one to write you folks essays - in case you hadn't noticed.

The author of this comic stands in solidarity with everyone fighting for their rights out there. If it's safe for you to do so, protest. If you're white, be a good ally. Either way, there's plenty of resources about what to prepare in case you go. If it's not safe for you to be out there, there's plenty of other ways to help. Donate to bail funds or other mutual aid funds (and remember, bail funds also go towards freeing prisoners who otherwise have a huge chance of contracting COVID-19!), support small businesses owned by people of color, check in on your friends who are protesters and make sure they have everything they need, and if you're straight-up unable to provide materially for anyone but yourself - no shame in that - at least signal boost bail funds, etc..

I am white and in a financially stable position at the moment. If you were thinking about donating to Mousetrap, I would urge you to instead give that money to the people who need it more. At the moment, simply reading this comic and sending kind words my way are plenty.

Black lives matter. Don't forget what you're seeing. Stay safe.

If you want to donate, but don't know where to look, Google "[your state/city] Bail Fund," or take a look at the Twitter thread I'm maintaining of lesser-known bail funds. I've also retweeted a couple other master lists of funds, so you can dig through my tweets for those.